Digital watercolour in a traditional style


 

Fruit and Jug On Black Chair
original digital painting by
Joan A Hamilton
February 2009

fruit-and-jug-on-black-chair-for-web-w-cpy

 

This is an experiment with colour for me. Unfortunately the screen does not really show all the different colours I used in the background and the end result is a little muddy looking. I added the plum more than two thirds of the way through because I thought it needed a little something to complete the circle of movement and an accent colour to give it a little punch.  According to a Color Trends for 2009 article I read on Barney Davey’s Blog these colours will be ‘in’ this year.  That influenced my choices only because it reaffirmed that I wanted to use this particular colour palette. The contrasts on the white jug and cloth don’t show up very well here either, but it looks striking (in a nice way) printed on the Aurora Fine Art paper in a black frame.

I am frustrated with the fact that so much of the detail I paint in does not always translate to print as clearly as I  want it to. It helps to increase the resolution to 600 dpi before printing, but I’m beginning to think I have to change my style and use bolder and more visible brush strokes and more variation in colour and value.  I will be experimenting with that soon.

Wecome to visitors from the UK via DigitalArtShow! Hope you enjoy your little visit to Canada! http://www.digitalshow.co.uk    they featured one of my tutorial posts here recently if you are interested.

Leave a Reply

